top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRiley

Fictional Writing

Updated: Nov 30, 2018


Tigers

I ran through the jungle dogging the vines hanging down from the tall trees and leaped over the thick tree roots exposing themself to the forest floor. I jumped over a fallen tree but my foot got caught on a branch coming out of the overturned tree and I fall to my knees, out of breath hoping that I had created enough space Between me and it so I could rest for a second.

The palms of my hands on the cold damp forest floor, I tried to catch my breath. My lungs felt hot and dry like a fire had just come through and burn everything in its path leaving nothing but black ashes inside my chest. I could feel my heartbeat in the back of my head and I could taste my own blood in the back of my throat; it tasted like rusted copper. My head was pounding and it felt like I was about to puke.

I've got to keeping going I thought, trying to push my body to the same conclusion. I wobbled into a standing position but as soon as I took my first step, my knees collapsed and my body was custoned by the cold dark earth. I rested my sweaty forehead on the forest floor pleading the Goddesses above to grant me safety. I heard thud of his paws hit the fallen tree only feet behind me and my heart skidded to a stop. I pulled my body into the bush closest to me trying to shelter myself from his eyes. His monstrous growl boomed through the jungle shaking the leafs of the trees and plants around us.

Peeking through the bush I saw his nostrils flare. In a quick second he unhenged his jaw and bit down hard on my leg. His dagger like teeth piercing through my skin, my body tried to scream in pain but my mind wouldn’t give him the satisfaction of hearing my pain. I felt a hot thick liquid dripping down my leg. My blood mixing with the slobber dripping out from his mouth. I looked up into his eyes twinkling at me with blood thirst. With my leg still in his jaw he started to turn around and walk where I had just ran from. I back sliding against the moist hard ground, I wondered if I had just run fasted would I have made it?

He leaped onto a rock causing the back of my head to smack into the side of the rock, hanging upside down he bit harder into my leg, his teeth going deeper into my leg surpassing my muscles. I could feel his sharp teeth pierce into my bone slowly starting to shatter it from the pressure. I heard a pack of growling not far away. He dragged me over the rocks towards the loud growls, my heart beating faster, I tried to squirm lose from him. But he just bit in harder causing me to grit my teeth to try and hold in a moan of pain. My blood dripping down from his mouth staining his orange and black striped coating crimson red.

When we reached the source of the deafening roars I look up to be met with dozens of pairs of eyes. Each held a smirking look in their eyes. The tigers have found me but I do not care. I will fight them until to end and I will win.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Poems

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page